FREE DELIVERY ON ORDERS OVER £40
FREE DELIVERY WHEN YOU SPEND £40
PAY IN 4 INSTALLMENTS WITH CLEARPAY
clearpay-shop-now-pay-later-banner-image

Blog

Candies

All things Vegan Sweets, The Ultimate Guide

Whether you have a super sweet tooth or are just reaching out for some extra information about vegan sweets and what benefits they include; here’s all you need to know!

Firstly, what does Vegan mean?

Veganism is a type of Vegetarian diet that excludes meat, eggs, dairy products, and all other animal-derived ingredients, in simple terms this is things which don’t use animals within the manufacture process.

Right, let’s get onto a sweeter topic; We have put together some interesting facts which you probably didn’t know goes into normal sweets you see on the high street, in comparison to Vegan sweets!

What makes sweets Non-Vegan?

Non-Vegan Sweets contain a lot of the following products either made by or used from animals – making them strictly Non-Vegan!

Gelatine – The original definition of Gelatine is a translucent, colourless, flavourless food ingredient, commonly derived from collagen taken from animal body parts.

Shellac – Shellac, or E904, is a glazing agent made from the secretion of female lac bugs. After fertilization, the female lac bug finds a spot on a tree and creates a layer of shellac that covers herself entirely. In this cocoon-like place, the lac bug lays her eggs, which will be protected thanks to the shellac. Later the eggs will hatch, and the new lac bugs will come out from under the shellac.

Milk – Milk is a nutrient-rich liquid food produced by the mammary glands of mammals.

Honey – Honey is a sweet, viscous food substance made by honeybees and some related insects. Bees produce honey from the sugary secretions of plants or from secretions of other insects, by regurgitation, enzymatic activity, and water evaporation. Bees store honey in wax structures called honeycombs.

Animal-Derived Flavourings – Other animal-derived flavourings could be added to sweets, often written as their E number or scientific name (for example, E640, or glycine, which is often derived from gelatine).

Cochineal – The cochineal is a scale insect in the suborder Sternorrhyncha, from which the natural dye carmine is derived

Beeswax – Beeswax (cera alba) is a natural wax produced by honeybees of the genus Apis. The wax is formed into scales by eight wax-producing glands in the abdominal segments of worker bees, which discard it in or at the hive.

What Vegan sweets typically contain;

  • Vegan sweets are made by using plant-based alternatives to gelatine, such as agar agar, carrageenan and vega gel, as well as fruit, sugars, and syrups. Gelatine, beeswax, and dairy milk powder can be found in most mainstream sweets and are on the list of ingredients to swerve if you’re vegan.

What is Gelatine?

  • The original definition of Gelatine is a translucent, colourless, flavourless food ingredient, commonly derived from collagen taken from animal body parts. It is crusty when dry and gummy when moist. It is commonly used as a gelling agent in food, beverages, medications, drug and vitamin capsulesphotographic films and papers, and cosmetics. In simple terms whether we like it or not Gelatine is a protein obtained by boiling skin, tendons, ligaments, and/or bones with water. It is usually obtained from cows or pigs.

What Vegan brands use as a replacement instead of Gelatine?

  • Agar Agar, also known as katen or agar, is a flavourless jelly-like substance. It comes from the cell walls of red algae and is semi-translucent. In Asia, agar agar is widely used in custards, jellies, and puddings. Since it’s made from algae, agar agar is an excellent gelatine substitute (it’s our favourite for making jelly). It’s used to gel, emulsify, and thicken foods. Agar is usually available as flakes or powder, but you can find it in bar or sheet form too. – Veganfriendly.org

Ten Sweets you probably didn’t know where already Vegan.

  1. Starburst
  2. Jelly Tots
  3. Fruit Pastels
  4. Drumsticks
  5. Love Hearts
  6. Sherbet Dib Dabs
  7. Flying Sherbets
  8. Refreshers
  9. Parma Violets

Benefits of buying Vegan Sweets rather than Non-Vegan Sweets

  • It tastes just as good! Yes, that’s right, apart from not using any bad animal products you won’t be able to tell the difference between Vegan and Non-Vegan sweets.

Ten of our Favourite Vegan Sweets; We are sure you would like to know our personal favourites when it comes to Vegan Sweets, we like them all, so it’s hard to single one out! Tell us which one is your favourite!

Leave a Reply

Start typing and press Enter to search

Shopping Cart
No products in the cart.